Overcoming the perception of our body image


After one of my recent posts on taking on a new shape, I received some positive feedback from close friends and family members, that had me re-thinking of how I see my body. It has become apparent to me that as women, we often see ourselves differently in the mirror than how we look in reality. I’m sure this is not news to you. I have often wondered why I look better in some dressing room mirrors than others and I have always joked with others “well you haven’t seen me naked”, in response to the positive and caring comments of how skinny I am or in shape I am.

I will confess at this present moment that I am just your everyday average body type and I guess I should be feeling thankful for this. I am a 5’6″ gal weighing in at 150 lbs. But, that 150 lbs is tipping the scales for me. Honestly I am 10 lbs heavier than I have ever been, outside of pregnancies. Even after giving birth, I weighed less than I do now.

But enough, about me and onto the purpose of this post……

reflectionsinmirror

 

I was browsing Pinterest today and came across a Pin about real body images. The site, My Body Gallery, allows you to enter in your body stats (height, weight, age range, clothing sizes, body shape) and then shows you pictures of real women who have the same body type of you. The purpose of this site: “It is a place for women to post their true and accurate pictures. And for other women to see that the world is not a place of cookie cutters. We are all different in our body shape and size as well as our place in our journey to loving our bodies exactly as they are, not as we (or others) think they should be.” I think this is a brilliant idea but at the same time so sad that we as women have come to this.

Its time to…….

d8f09eb710826c54c06bd7556b19e99a

 

If only we could start valuing ourselves and our bodies for what they are……

images

 

1 Comment

Leave a Reply

