Unrealistic Expectations


Expectation: The belief that someone will or should achieve something

Unrealistic: Not compatible with reality or fact

expectations

Do you suffer from a case of setting your standards too high and giving yourself expectations that are unrealistic or unattainable?

While at work the other day, a patient walks in and I can remember her face but cannot recall her name. She tells me her name and I apologize to her for not remembering. She proceeds to tell me that I mustn’t place such unrealistic expectations on myself. Upon hearing this, its like firecrackers began exploding in my brain. As she leaves, I quickly write down the phrase “unrealistic expectations” and for the remainder of the day, the phrase rings strong in my head.

Let me step back a few and mention this happened last Monday. To this day, I have thought continuously about that phrase and how it so perfectly fits many facets of my life. In everything I do, I strive for perfection but somehow seem to always fall short. I am constantly comparing myself  to other peoples success’s and continuously being disappointed in the many failures of my life. Why cant I be as successful as her, have a body like her, or be as good of a mother has her. What I didn’t realize until last week, was that I was setting my expectations to unrealistic levels and therefore setting goals that were completely unattainable.

Everything in my life this week as brought me right back to this very same phrase, “unrealistic expectations” yet helped me to make it through a very trying and exhausting week. Without this little piece of knowledge I am sure my thoughts and outlook would have been very different. What I have learned is such a valuable lesson I can use to keep myself in check every time I am feeling less successful than I think I should be.

As written in an article on Psychcentral.com; Unrealistic expectations give substance, heft, and power to an unrealized goal. They squash the budding crocus of success as it pushes through the thick asphalt of failure. Unrealistic expectations kill the flowering of dreams, because you become so disappointed that you give up hope.

So often we don’t see the success in our life because we are too busy focusing on the one or two things we failed in. Why not set our goals and expectations at a lower standard so that we can actually reach them in a reasonable amount of time and then set a new higher goal that is a step up from the one we just achieved? Now I recall what Chalene Johnson was trying to do in her book PUSH.

Check out this earlier post I wrote about success

Are there areas in your life you find yourself setting unrealistic expectations? What steps are you going to take to lower your expectations and make your goal attainable?

1 Comment

  1. Pingback: …As I attempt to achieve a realistic happiness. Instead of, you know, like an unrealistic happiness. – slimegreen

Leave a Reply

