Do you suffer from the winter blues?


As usual, like a butterfly emerges from its cocoon, the sun is beginning to shine and I find myself coming out of my winter funk. Every year I go through what some would describe as seasonal depression or SAD (seasonal affective disorder). Come October, my husband mentions to me that its that time again and I’m going into my “depression”. For years, this bothered me and I denied it. He called it depression but I didn’t feel depressed or sad, I simply lost motivation and would lay around the house a majority of the day. It wasn’t until this past month, I read an article in a magazine that sparked my interest. It spoke about how to stay motivated in your fitness routine during the winter months when it is cold and wet. In this article, is where I read about SAD. I couldn’t believe what I was reading; there was actually a diagnosis, per say, that fit exactly what I was feeling. This in itself has given me some power in my thinking. I no longer have to feel guilty for what I go through or feel as if I am a lazy unmotivated person. There really is a reason why I feel and act this way. Being that I live in the Pacific NW, there is a major lack of Vitamin D (sun), which is one of the reasons SAD is more common in the regions of the world that  lack sun.

Sitting here today typing this, the sky is the brightest of blue that I have seen since last Summer and the sun is shining. Reminds me of that song by the Beatles, Here comes the sun. Perhaps this will be my new theme song. In case you have never heard this song (gasp), it sings about it being a long, cold, lonely winter but the sun is here and smiles are returning to our faces so its going to be alright. What a great song!

Armed and ready I have come up with a plan to attack this:

1. Vitamin D

2. Shakeology, gives me my daily dose of vitamins/minerals, reduces cravings, aids in weight loss, gives me energy, and so much more

3. Fitness program, most likely will do a hybrid program of P90X and TurboFire or may try a new program like Body Beast

4. Ultimate Reset Cleanse to restart my system and get it worki, ng right

5. Lots of Sun and outdoors

6. Weekly bike rides with the ladies: fitness and fun all in one

7 . Take the kids to the park to get that sun and get some good bonding time

8. Weekly planned fitness walk/run like I did last year with a group of ladies: again fitness and fun all in one.

9. Reading; always uplifting and motivating (I have 3 books going right now that I have been unsuccessful at finishing since fall) Peace and Plenty: Finding Your Path to Financial Serenity, The Daily Fix: Your guide to healthy habits for good nutrition, and the Artist’s Way: A Spiritual Path to Higher Creativity.

10.Clean eating which requires planning ahead to make the most of my money and yummy meals. Check out this post on eating clean

And now I raise my glass to: motivation, better nutrition, health, vitality, and a spring full of sun.

What do you do to stay motivated in your fitness routine?

Leave a Reply

